Show support for a west end recreation centre

Recent city council budget discussions have highlighted the need for a recreation facility in west Edmonton. Our community league has been contacted by Councillor Oshry who is encouraging residents to let city council know how important a recreation centre is to west end communities.

Councillor Oshry says, “I have been pushing to get the new rec centre funded on the upcoming budget agenda. With the population surge and levels of development we have seen in the west and south-west, this facility is sorely needed. However, to date, Administration has not recommended funding it. With the 2015-2018 budget discussions underway, now is a great opportunity to make your opinion known. If you, and residents in your communities, would like to see this new rec centre allocated funding, I’d like to encourage you to show your support to members of Council.”

Councillor Oshry suggests two options:

1) Speak at the upcoming Budget Public Hearing on November 24.
To register to speak at the public hearing, call the Office of the City Clerk at 780-496-8178, register through the City’s website at http://webproxy.edmonton.ca/forms/requesttospeak/default.aspx or register in person on November 24 between 9:30 a.m. and 9:30 p.m. with the clerks outside Council Chambers.

2) Send an email to all City Councillors and the Mayor.
Michael Oshry – Michael.Oshry@edmonton.ca
Andrew Knack – Andrew.Knack@edmonton.ca
Scott McKeen – Scott.McKeen@edmonton.ca
Dave Loken- Dave.Loken@edmonton.ca
Ed Gibbons – Ed.Gibbons@edmonton.ca
Ben Henderson – Ben.Henderson@edmonton.ca
Bryan Anderson- Bryan.Anderson@edmonton.ca
Bev Esslinger – Bev.Esslinger@edmonton.ca
Michael Walters- Michael.Walters@edmonton.ca
Tony Caterina – Tony.Caterina@edmonton.ca
Amarjeet Sohi – Amarjeet.Sohi@edmonton.ca
Mike Nickel – Mike.Nickel@edmonton.ca
Mayor Don Iveson – Don.Iveson@edmonton.ca

Thank you to Councillor Oshry for his support of our community.